Search Committee

Dec. 6, 2016

Chancellor Search Committee Named

University of Arkansas System President Dr. Donald R. Bobbitt has announced the formation of an advisory committee to assist in the search for the next chancellor of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS).

Chaired by Jeannette Shorey, M.D., associate provost for faculty and professor of Internal Medicine, the committee includes representatives from campus faculty, administration and staff, supporters from across the state and a Trustee of the Board of Trustees of the University of Arkansas.

The committee will assist Bobbitt in finding a successor for UAMS Chancellor Dan Rahn, M.D., who will retire on July 31, 2017. Rahn was hired in November 2009.  While the goal will be to select a new chancellor before Rahn’s retirement, the process will not be constrained to a strict timeline, Bobbitt said.

“We will carefully make the effort and take the time needed to find the right person to lead UAMS into the future,” Bobbitt said. “I’m grateful that all of the members identified to be a part of this search committee agreed to give their time to participate in this important process. I know they will each be an integral piece to the large puzzle of identifying well-qualified candidates for the position. While Dan Rahn is irreplaceable, solid groundwork has been laid for the campus’s next leader to inherit a vastly improved institution with momentum moving toward the future.”

To keep the campus informed and involved in the search process, a web page with current chancellor search information will be added to the UAMS website later this month. In the coming weeks we will keep you informed on where to find that link and which search firm is chosen to help identify the next UAMS chancellor.

UAMS Chancellor Search Committee

Dr. Jeannette Shorey – *Committee Chair/UAMS Faculty
John Goodson – Board of Trustees
Dr. Pearl McElfish – UAMS Northwest Campus Faculty
Robin K. Dreisigacker – COM Administration
Brigitte Grant – Institutional Advancement
Dr. Patricia Cowan – Academic Deans
Jeff Risinger – Finance and Administration
Dr. Dan Voth – Academic Senate Chair/UAMS Faculty
Dr. Thea Rosenbaum – UAMS Faculty
Dr. Nancy Rusch – UAMS Faculty/Department Chair
Dr. Corey Montgomery – UAMS Faculty
Sherri Robinson – UA System Representative
Patti Bailey – UA Foundation Board
Christina Clark – Staff Representative
Ann Rosso – NWA UAMS Advisory Board
William Clark – UAMS Foundation Board Chair
Dr. Steppe Mette – UAMS Faculty/ Administrator